Calligrams

For our latest project we have to use typography as imagery to create a booklet. So I thought a good starting point would be to look at some calligrams which tackle this very well.

I discovered this site with work from Pantheon Design. I love the way they use something a simple as typography to make exquisite pieces of design.

This example here struck as something rather interesting

I really like how punctuation and the sentence structure is used to create the face of a person. It goes to show you don’t need additional imagery when you have typography, it is a form of imagery itself.

To me I really like calligrams because they have a real artistic effect to them created out of something so plain, often repeated to make a shape. Like the brackets repeated to make the hair on the example.

There are many more examples of this technique created by Pantheon Design on this link:

http://www.pantheondesign.com/LR-calligrams-calligrammi-01.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Designs

Leave a comment