Referencing Task

For my referencing task I have chosen an online article, a film and a book to collect my quotations from.

–       Hapgood, T. (2011) What Steve Jobs has given to designers. Available from: < http://www.aiga.org/what-steve-jobs-has-given-to-designers > [Accessed 9 Nov 2011]

“When I open up my MacBook Pro each day, I am excited about doing my work. When I’m happily working, I am enjoying my career, and when I’m enjoying my career, I’m loving life even more. I love typography and the choosing of typefaces to employ in motion designs and web sites, and I love the way that the Mac presents these type families to me so smoothly and accurately everywhere, including web fonts in Safari and the various web browsers.”

 

–       Helvetica (2007) Directed by Gary Hustwit. Swiss Dots [DVD]

David Carson: “I have no formal training in my field. In my case I’ve never learned all the things I’m not supposed to do. I just did what made sense to me. I was just… experimenting, really. So when people started getting upset, I didn’t really understand why, I said, “What’s the big deal? What are you talking about?” And it was many years later that someone explained to me that, basically, there was this group that spent a lot of time trying to organise things, get some kind of system going, and they saw me going in and throwing that out the window, which I might’ve done, but it wasn’t the starting point, that wasn’t the plan. Only much later I learned what determines modernism, and this and that…”

 

–       Sagmeister, S. (2008) Things I have learned in my life so far, Abrams

“Over time I get used to everything and start taking for granted.”

 

I chose these quotes as they are based around my topic how designers use technology to enhance their work and comparing it to traditional methods. The first was an article about how Steve Job’s technology has enhanced our designing practice. Secondly was a quote from Helvetica by David Carson who says he has had no training and likes to experiment with his work. Then lastly was one of the quotes from Stefan Sagmeisters “Things I’ve learned in my life so far” where he says about taking things for granted, which I feel fits my topic. How designers take the technology we have for granted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Contextual Studies

Leave a comment